A new subscription gets created whenever someone purchases one of your plans.
A subscription is a copy of the original product, which you can edit on a per-customer basis. Changes to a subscription will not affect the plan or any of the other subscription.
Whenever a subscription gets upgraded or downgraded, a new subscription gets created and the previous one gets marked with the corresponding status. The new subscription will take effect at the end of the current billing period.